HomeТранспортRelated VideosMore From: Motorcycle.com

2018 Suzuki GSX-S1000Z Long-Term Review

524 ratings | 17558 views
As a lifelong supporter of the underdog and a proponent of keeping things cheap and stupid simple, I was a big fan of the Suzuki GSX-S1000 right from the start. Basically, we’re talking 2005 GSX-R1000 with much improved ergonomics, more supple suspension, EFI, and other conveniences of modern life that make deploying 144 screaming inline-Four horsepower a kinder, gentler and more comfortable experience every time you leave the house. Read the full story here: http://www.motorcycle.com/manufacturer/suzuki/live-2018-suzuki-gsx-s1000z-long-term-review.html Subscribe! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=Motorcycle YouTube - http://www.youtube.com/Motorcycle Facebook - http://facebook.com/MotorcycleCom Twitter - http://twitter.com/MotorcycleCom Web - http://www.Motorcycle.com Established in 1994, Motorcycle.com is the premiere online resource for motorcycle and scooter enthusiasts. With hundreds of high quality, detailed video reviews on bikes from Harley-Davidson, Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki and just about everybody else, it's the best place to go to learn about the latest and greatest two-wheeled creations. There's simply no better resource if you're planning on buying or if you just want to check out some awesome machines.
Category: Транспорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (132)
Mountain Pants (19 hours ago)
I have the 2015 750Z and love it- so much so that the 2018 1000Z might just be my next ride.
out quick (7 days ago)
GSX-S1000, GSX-S750,FZ-09, z900, CB-1000r compared. Basically keep the price range under $11,000. Also best mod for this bike HyperPro front fork springs ($300 installed) it will handle like a 750, Chk my channel for a proper demonstration. One last thing if you do a compare at the tail the dragon, I could bring my GSX-1000 n u could use it. Thx for the sweet videos keep up the good work
Brot đinh (8 days ago)
Viet nam dau het roi ta
Sebastián Demaría (10 days ago)
I MUCH better than a Ducati Monster!
Valen Sinclair (11 days ago)
This is the best Suzuki can offer for a naked sport bike? These things are hideous looking.
PNW Sportbike Life (14 days ago)
I still smile every time I hop on mine. Will I get a Tuano someday? Maybe. The GSX-S1000 is a TON of value for a great bike and I don't regret buying mine.
KA AA (16 days ago)
Super bike top end with trq everywhere. It's rapid and handles. Great daily bike for crap eating grins
fyzz michiko (16 days ago)
vs Triumph Speed Triple, which is better and ideal. Suzu or Trump?
Jeff RT (16 days ago)
It's not an FZ-09.
Gary Walker (17 days ago)
Looks good. Would look even better with less of the plastic shrouding especially around the headlight. No doubt if they copied kawa's idea and made it look like a '78 gs1000 it'd sell 10x faster but that's the weird times we're in.
willie838 (18 days ago)
Brimbo...... It stops gud. Lolll
Roy Smith (18 days ago)
I like it! Good review John!
Ride Around (19 days ago)
Suzuki are shit the customer services did nothing for me when my new sv650 broke down leaving me stranded in France
brian glendenning (19 days ago)
Nice review. I nearly purchased one, but then rode the s1000r and bought that with its smooth fuelling, which is still an issue with the gsxs1000.
prndownload (19 days ago)
Could have saved coin by just getting a power commander or flash. The beamer is good though. Does she run hot? That was one of my concerns since I filter a lot of gridlock in some brutal heat.
Brian Ryle Espuerta (19 days ago)
horsepower, sound, engine all is better. but id still take mt09 any day
Boz (18 days ago)
Z900 for me anyday.
prndownload (19 days ago)
Yeah but what if you've already ridden a triple for 10 years and are now over it and don't want one anymore?
Brendan Simmons (19 days ago)
He's funny, honest, and blunt. Why's he not reviewing more bikes?
Tyson Cott (19 days ago)
Another good review burns, i like your reviews! keep up the good work!
diversion641 (19 days ago)
Burnsie, you are hilarious.
DoABarrelRolll (19 days ago)
I am a Suzuki, Yamaha and BMW Dealer and have to admit: the gsx-s1000 is really boring compared to the S1000R and FZ-10 (MT-10 for europ)
prndownload (19 days ago)
It looks better than the MT10 especially in person. MT10 sounds like a bag of spanners, has wooden brakes and drinks like a fish. Plus you have to replace the exhaust but when you do its too loud. Change the sprockets on the GSXS and it'll loop just like the MT10 while doing everything else better. Plus the suzuki in my country is like 25% cheaper.
Marcin Kolasa (19 days ago)
another boring review made by this guy :(
Andrew Freeman (20 days ago)
There's no doubt in my mind that this is a perfect all-around streetbike. Anything based off of the '05-'06 GSXR1000 motor is a bulletproof torque monster!
Jonathan Bauer (20 days ago)
I always wonder how i would like a 1000. Been riding for decades, but haven’t had the opportunity, and they are usually too expensive for me. I really like how they tried to keep this one affordable. Yeah I would love a BMW or Aprilia, but unless i won the lottery that will never happen. Maybe when my gsx-s 750 wears out in hopefully ten years or so with heavy riding maybe i can finally afford to get a 1000 if i want one. I would have to head to another state to test ride one though first as i worry i might actually prefer the smaller engine, but it would be nice to try one
SunBear Avrigian (20 days ago)
Been reading and listening to John Burns motorcycle reviews for many a year now and he is still one of my favorites.Keep up the great work JB.
Northrider (20 days ago)
I didn't get the I'm to good for this job attitude thing? Lol but I definitely would like to ride the bike...
Harley RUIZ (20 days ago)
it is funny how "reliable" is a bad thing. I do not get US reviewers when they say that and that they need character as in maybe it will not function or do what it should do… it looks like a great bike, maybe on the fat size (in term of view, maybe not so much as real weight). I like this side of bikes, standard do a lot of things correct. Thanks for the review
Jessa Phillips (20 days ago)
It’s so crazy that this thing is cheaper than a 600 super sport and probably faster
patrick balagtas (17 days ago)
Ralph Bundersnatch nothing a sprocket change can’t fix. There geared very low from factory. Naked bikes aren’t meant to do top speed runs but if that’s your thing like I said a sprocket change and it will top out like a gsxr will They dyno at 140-150hp stock even a Cbr 1000 don’t dyno that atw lol Also I was about to buy a z1000 as I love the look of them but then rode the Suzuki and forgot about the z1000 Top end on the Suzuki will leave the z1000 for dust Yes I’ve ridden both 2016 model
Ralph Bundersnatch (17 days ago)
patrick balagtas well gsxr yes but gsxs isn't going to run 165mph. It will get to 140 a lot faster than a 600. I have the z1000sx very similar. Obnoxiously fast down low.
patrick balagtas (18 days ago)
Ralph Bundersnatch not even close coming from a Gsxs 1000 and gsxr owner
Ralph Bundersnatch (19 days ago)
Some 600s might be able to take it top end, but the race would probably be over by then.
letgouvgod (20 days ago)
Classic burns "mail it in" just the facts review. But for some reason we like them
Zik Nguyen (20 days ago)
review Z1000 R 2018 please
incipidsigninsetup (20 days ago)
This guy reminds me of Sam Elliot. He gives off that easy, no nonsense, straight to the point wether you like it or not vibe. Good review.
Walt Whaley (20 days ago)
Will Kawasaki bring the z1000 back to the USA?
Jay B (20 days ago)
Im not getting the attempt at comedy of late
Henry Hawk (20 days ago)
liked the review. didn't think I would ever leave a shaft drive, but considering very seriously since chains and sprockets have came a long way. this bike would probably be good for the budget.
UprightAllTheWay (19 days ago)
I was lucky enough to have extended test rides on all 3 models (the naked and faired suzuki + the kawasaki sx) - I enjoyed all the three rides but, opting for the S1000F was an easy choice for me.
prndownload (19 days ago)
I haven't ridden either but from my research the suzuki is a better bike in basically every area.
Ralph Bundersnatch (19 days ago)
Henry Hawk might also check out Kawasaki z1000. I have the faired sx version. Great upright bike plenty of power and easy on the pocket book.
Tyler Rue (20 days ago)
I don't care for the aesthetics at all. I'll stick to my GSXR
Guy Levy (20 days ago)
Yo they called from the 90's and asked for those Blinkers back
Chuck Lome (20 days ago)
Are you just getting tired of doing this stuff or what ?
Edward Pearce (20 days ago)
I am just inquiring about the mt 125 and Yzf 125 ECUs , I just wanted to know if they are the same ECU because I’ve seen ECUs online that fit both and sounds like the yzf 125 and mt 125 use the same I don’t need a new ECU , it’s to see if I can DIY fit a yzf 125 power Commander to my mt 125 as i can’t find any fuel controllers for the mt 125 Thank you for your help, Kind regards, Ed
Edward Pearce (19 days ago)
prndownload A. It’s a sick bike anyway and B. I am getting it for my birthday and already have a CBR600RR that I can afford so it’s all good there
prndownload (19 days ago)
Bro why are you throwing money at a 125? Just put it towards a good bike later.
Edward Pearce (19 days ago)
Jessa Phillips do you know how to find out the engine code for the bikes , Thank you so much, Ed
Jessa Phillips (20 days ago)
Edward Pearce we don’t have the 125s in the US but if they have the same engine code they are likely the same engine and use the same ecu
Choirboyjr11 (20 days ago)
I love watching John!! Haha
k88lnx (20 days ago)
The ending reminded me of Spike Milligan.
Mike Ryan (20 days ago)
Umm, why would anyone think 70's UJM'S are racist exactly?
coolhandchunk (20 days ago)
Is it just me, or is Mr. Burns 'give a crap' factor getting real low. His language and presentation is slipping
ĐAM MÊ XE (20 days ago)
Why are all these Co's putting big honking turn blinkers on their Speed Demons anywhoo?
enntense (10 days ago)
Cuz getting your brains squashed by miss Daisy turning in front of you cuz she can't see your turning cuz tour too cool to have visible turn signals...isn't so cool.
Andrew Freeman (8 days ago)
Manufacturers install signals that have to be within set requirements for size, brightness, color, strength of mounting brackets and position to be in compliance with federal regulations. Manufacturers know very well that most buyers will replace them immediately, but they have to roll off the showroom floor like that
SunzOffski (20 days ago)
BlackBikesMatter.
SunzOffski (20 days ago)
This is the only bike I'd buy right now. It can do everything in my opinion. Fun Commute Track Touring And it doesn't break the bank.
Boz (18 days ago)
Kawasaki Z900 is much cheaper and a real hoot to ride.
prndownload (19 days ago)
Yeah I completely agree. I not lusting after it but to be honest there is nothing else better to buy anywhere near that price point. Plus, you don't even have to throw much more money at it. Maybe clear indicators and remove the mirrors. At this point I'm hoping the new Honda is better in every way that justifies the higher price. With the Honda I think its still going to require a tidy little slip on pipe to finish the look and fix the sound. There goes another $500-$1000. $14k vs $20k approx for a bike I'll simply ruin with daily commuting anyway.
phillip galas (20 days ago)
John reminds me of Rick from the cartoon Rick & Morty
Gerhard Symons (20 days ago)
Dear America, The word 'Japanese¨ is an adjective, which describes the quality of a noun. Adjectives are not racist. Yours faithfully, The rest of the English-speaking world.
commantros exetlos (5 days ago)
BECAUSE RETARDED RIDERS ARE LIKE ZOMBIS WHEN MARKETING STARTS AND THEY DONT COMPLAIN..remember hornet 900 they bashed her because it wasnt like a robot
muadib attredies (19 days ago)
Haahaa funny comment mate, thumbs up (they can't help it..............teehee),
laughingstalk (19 days ago)
This bike doesn't seem all that "universal." An ADV or sport tourer might be more universal. The "Japanese" part implies an approach from a bygone era.
john burns (19 days ago)
i think i only said it, really, just to instigate exactly this kind of large pedantic pimple. Thank you.
fred blue (19 days ago)
it is understood - not "it is understand"
1990 (20 days ago)
Excellent, straightforward, no bullshit review by one cool dude. If I wanted an inline four, I'd buy this bike. Certainly a lot lighter than my B-King.
TheYakkis (20 days ago)
If that was you, just being yourself, then keep it up brother. It had a feeling of "I'm busy right now but I'll stop and do a review and get it over with. Because fuggit" ...........This was even funnier the second time i watched it
Joric78 (20 days ago)
I looked for the written review on the site, but couldn't find it.
Valen Sinclair (11 days ago)
The link is literally right in the video description. The internet is hard.
john burns (20 days ago)
motorcycle.com it's not hard to find.
patrick balagtas (20 days ago)
Best bike for the money if your after a litre naked bike. Top end on this thing is insane they dyno around 145-150hp at the rear wheels stock. It’s not like a tuono and a monster? Sure it isn’t it’s not priced like one either. Best of all you know 20 yrs from Now it’s still going to work. Good luck doing that with your ktm/bmw/Aprillia/Ducati supernakeds 😂
out quick (7 days ago)
Yea ide like to see the price difference put to modz on the GSX-S1000 n then do a fair comparison video. I’m on a blue one wt u got,
Oso 11 (9 days ago)
lmao if you think a suzuki will start 20 years from now than you haven't owned very many suzuki's
Apurva Agnihotri (16 days ago)
NAILED IT
patrick balagtas (18 days ago)
Ralph Bundersnatch love the look of the z1000! Actually was about to buy one until I rode the Suzuki The Suzuki will leave the z1000 behind all day everyday.
patrick balagtas (18 days ago)
letgouvgod the amount of older s1000rr having issues are crazy!! Let’s not compare old bmws to new ones.
abhi agarwal (20 days ago)
*Here Before 500 views* 😎😂
Oso 11 (20 days ago)
I'll never understand people who complain about modern bikes costing so much, and then go and complain that the cheaper bikes don't have enough stuff. like, do you not understand how this works? can't have both
hksupersi (20 days ago)
haha i like this guy.
PNW Sportbike Life (14 days ago)
same here
Sociopath Mercenary (20 days ago)
"It's good"
Faizu Salim (20 days ago)
Good one!
Greezy_Chef (20 days ago)
Damn JB, you always get a chuckle out of me
Eoghan McIlveney (20 days ago)
And compared to all the other 1k nakeds out there it's drastically lacking. Sazuki have dropped the ball latly.
enntense (10 days ago)
If you spend 15k for a bike with adjustable suspension and don't bother to adjust it, you should try taking up another hobby. Possibly knitting.
KA AA (14 days ago)
PNW Sportbike Life yup I got the zero percent :-) but manafacturers advertised was 3 compared to others..
PNW Sportbike Life (14 days ago)
Suzuki usually does 0% APR; I got it on mine!
KA AA (16 days ago)
Bang for buck... I wanted an mt10.. s1000r but 12 and 9 percent apr compared to 3 and 3k more minimum best price.. I'm happy with my choice and the value for money it gives me.
Nick P (9 days ago)
I don't think they are competing with higher end bikes. It's not the same market. Some people are willing to forgo 20% performance to save 40% of the money. Not everyone wants a bike for the exclusivity of a name brand. When I was shopping for a gsx s1000, I was not even considering a bmw s1000r for example. Every product fills a niche.
Cross (20 days ago)
Yeah nothing like paying extra for a all blacked out bike. Paying extra to increase the chances of being hit by a car, but hey at least u look cool going down...never understood ppl who wear all black everything on a black bike...sure u wanna be Batman but ur making it super hard to spot vs say a red bike and helmet.
Ralph Bundersnatch (19 days ago)
Nobody is looking anyway. They're all looking down at their phones. Just riding a motorcycle now days is practically suicide. Colors or not.
lockheed08 (20 days ago)
My bike is matte black and my gear is mostly black. I’m just as invisible than when I had my red/white bike, or my yellow bike before that. It’s funny how you have so much negativity towards people who don’t use the same colors as you.
Oso 11 (20 days ago)
Cross ok buddy
Sousa KTM (20 days ago)
It's not a ktm superduke... 1290 xD
Sousa KTM (18 days ago)
well my 2015 one and if you see on pages of the owners noone complains about engines or anything... very reliable engine only thing is the odo to gps diferrence is 8% when most bike is 4-5% can be fixed with new abs rings... besides that true hooligan supernaked fking fun bike you can't make a opinion of 1 bike by hearing 1 bad experience...
prndownload (19 days ago)
I know a guy who got the duke and said its a heap of crap. Apparently they didn't install some kind of seals in the engine and had to be replaced. He said even after it's been fixed he's disappointed with various aspects of it. I think its one of the better looking bikes out there and I'd like one as a weekend machine but since I don't ride on the weekends its pretty useless to me. Plus its pricey and would get stolen within 2 weeks.
Sousa KTM (20 days ago)
Lol any prove to what your saying... Superduke 3 years old 25k km's 0 issue's... Lot of hooligan... Suzuki gsx-1000s is a naked not supernaked even... A 2005 engine cmon ridiculous....
Joric78 (20 days ago)
I guess it's only been 3-4 years, but I haven't heard of engine failure on the superdukes being a common problem.
patrick balagtas (20 days ago)
Sousa KTM not priced like one either Good luck with your duke 10-20 yrs from now see if it still wants to start and your on your 3rd engine rebuild 😂😂😂
Moto Squirrel (20 days ago)
Sounds NICE! Why are all these Co's putting big honking turn blinkers on their Speed Demons anywhoo? They can go cheap but.....not ugly!
Ralph Bundersnatch (19 days ago)
Moto Squirrel the government. That's why.
Andrew Freeman (20 days ago)
Manufacturers install signals that have be within set requirements for size, brightness, color, strength of mounting brackets and position to be in compliance with federal regulations. Manufacturers know very well that most buyers will replace them immediately, but they have to roll off the showroom floor like that
bobby caulloo (20 days ago)
my dream bike
BloodySinner (20 days ago)
Start dreaming bigger.
Evo Shift (20 days ago)
I wish I could buy another new in the crate 2008 GSX-R 1000 for the $9,200 I paid.
abhi agarwal (20 days ago)
Old
Oso 11 (20 days ago)
??
1990 (20 days ago)
And of course you're not, abhi agarwal.
abhi agarwal (20 days ago)
*You have an itch to go and look evry comment to reply on* What a douche
Oso 11 (20 days ago)
Evo Shift amen brother

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.