HomeТранспортRelated VideosMore From: Motorcycle.com

2018 MV Agusta Brutale 800 RR Review

680 ratings | 44880 views
Billing yourself as a boutique manufacturer of motorcycle art invites intense scrutiny and whether fair or unfair, a cosmetic blemish or performance shortcoming when found is profoundly magnified. It’s the cross MV Agusta must bear, along with its tumultuous history of financial liquidity as well as its family history of adopted ownerships. Regardless the burden, MV remains relevant by ceaselessly pushing the boundaries of motorcycle design by offering enthusiasts something more than a two-wheel commodity. A 2018 example of MV’s commitment to bettering its stable of show horses is the revised Brutale 800 RR. While not every reason the old model Brutale 800 lost to the new-for-2017 Triumph 765 Street Triple RS in our 800cc Euro Triples Streetfighter Faceoff has been addressed by MV engineers at the factory in Varese, the litany of updates do mandate another shootout be commissioned (hint, hint MO staffers). Read the full review here: http://www.motorcycle.com/manufacturer/mv-agusta/2018-mv-agusta-brutale-800-rr-first-ride-review.html Subscribe! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=Motorcycle YouTube - http://www.youtube.com/Motorcycle Facebook - http://facebook.com/MotorcycleCom Twitter - http://twitter.com/MotorcycleCom Web - http://www.Motorcycle.com Established in 1994, Motorcycle.com is the premiere online resource for motorcycle and scooter enthusiasts. With hundreds of high quality, detailed video reviews on bikes from Harley-Davidson, Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki and just about everybody else, it's the best place to go to learn about the latest and greatest two-wheeled creations. There's simply no better resource if you're planning on buying or if you just want to check out some awesome machines.
Category: Транспорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (133)
Tyler Rue (11 days ago)
For the kind of money these bikes demand, there should be a full color display like on the new R1.
amerpaisa (18 days ago)
Design over functionality. Hummm.... at over $18k I demand more.
projectill (27 days ago)
every MV Agusta review in the past 5yrs they mention improvement on throttle on/off response. sure takes them long time when others have that figured out for years. also ... that price ? beautiful bike sure, but the price is way way above competitors. sry MV, you have to do better
joe8388 (27 days ago)
They have never faded away, people just don't know what a real bike is
Night Rider (27 days ago)
This bike is NOT worth $18k
Towns Anthony (28 days ago)
Good luck to u mate, cuz u didnt got ur shift off while testing~~lol
ZeebNinja (28 days ago)
It's too bad that this motorcycle needed so many excuses.
Get Informed (28 days ago)
18,500 dlls... 5000 dlls for parts and labor, 13,500 to cover the fact that is a recognized brand... if only they were reliable machines...that would seal t deal.... yes design is cool...but there are more brands with cool designs for half t price.... it is like they overprice the bikes to make them look exclusive...more like unaffordable unreliable machines
Mr J (29 days ago)
Looks like a Thai 125
MOURADネヌホヤヘ (29 days ago)
mv agusta the dark knight special Edition https://youtu.be/3jcVJIhWWTQ sub in my ch
Joby Varghese (30 days ago)
Did they change the tail lamp?
MiN Lee (30 days ago)
Monster 1200s is better
edwardo Don edwardo (30 days ago)
Italians should stick to designing suits, the bikes look cool, but their engines sucks ballz, should have kept the Mercedes connection, my ducati isn't that great but can't wait to ride around the new V4, I want an MV but there isn't any real dealer in my hood and I'm not paying $26k for an oil filter if the bike(s broke
António Margalho (30 days ago)
Yeah, if you´re a poser it's a great bike.
Leo G. (30 days ago)
Love Mv the new era models are perfection on two wheels
Cristobal Torres (30 days ago)
I've always drooled looking at these 800cc machines. I'm aroused, 💪😁👋
Patrick Callahan (30 days ago)
MV makes eye candy for sure, but buying one and owning it for the long term, let’s see about the test of time? Quality control and customer service are why most buy Honda’s and Yamaha’s
gwwayner (30 days ago)
This is a motorcycle that needs to rip out on the open road, not putting around town where the throttle can be touchy. Italian sport-bikes are no compromise in the handling department so expect a little less comfort and stiffer suspension. The 800cc 3-cylinder is now further refined and reliability should not be an issue. And, yeah, expect to pay more for eye-catching Italian styling that sets you apart from the crowd especially when the tank badge says MV.
MasterSpin77 (30 days ago)
I bought the dragster rr...
ham_sandwich (30 days ago)
seat to handlebar ratio and seat to footpegs ratio? that should be 1:1 for the former and 1:2 for the later, or am i missing something here?
DeadHead (30 days ago)
Would love to own one or any MV. There's always a 'BUT' with this brand though. High prices are OK with this level of quality but as some mentioned it's not matching others in the spec like TFT screens which is a must have for a bike like this. Also buying this new you'll lose so much money when you come to sell it on. Buying used you start to think about reliability and spares availability. Have much love for MV, just can't see me ever owing one.
Ready Player 1 (30 days ago)
Looks so small 🤨
Robert Gagne (30 days ago)
I love my Brutale RR (2016) It replaced my 09 Street Triple R, both bikes would be hard for me to criticize. The MV cost more, and the dealer network and support is less than that of Triumph. ( although Triumph is loosing dealerships at an alarming rate). There are a lot of choices in the class, and for the average rider a lot of good choices, and the Brutale , for me, was a good choice.
el gar (1 month ago)
Indeed, the aesthetics and the many details on this bike are simply, outstanding!
CPU UK (1 month ago)
So, to sum up, it's a good bike as long as you don't ride in traffic ¬_¬
disekjoumoer (1 month ago)
Good to see you back, Tom.
TheChosen_1 (1 month ago)
This bike looks very flickable with such a short wheel base like my FZ10. Love the black and red color scheme.
thepassionofthegoose (1 month ago)
18K for a 13K bike. Yup, MV is back.
spoonman73 (24 days ago)
lol you nailed it........
Gökcan Eray (1 month ago)
nice motorcycle but very small. you look like candy apple on it.
Papa Shuk (1 month ago)
Good to see you back Tom
Jolly Green Biker (1 month ago)
Looks nice, but you look like a circus bear riding it. Which means I would too. I guess pretty things are expensive, even with 2010 electronics.
BWX (1 month ago)
Cool bike, good looking bike, but for what it is, the price is insane. That dash on an $18,000 bike!? LOL. Must be a joke. I'll take my XSR900 for $9000 and have just as much fun.
BWX (1 month ago)
I thought it was pronounced.. uh-GOOSE-ta.. Hmmm....
spyro A (1 month ago)
with 18000 you can get 2 Yamahas that are even better than this little bitch..
4tasmic (1 month ago)
Ah, I miss Tom!
PetaBread27 (1 month ago)
18k for a bike that isnt perfect, are they going bankrupt yet?
Bernard Bernabe (1 month ago)
PetaBread27 maybe soon and be purchased by an indian company and build bikes there with a partnership with bajaj.
Banditmanuk (1 month ago)
The Italians sure know how to make a beautiful bike. Honestly think the Street Triple 765 would be better in most areas. Love the noise of a triple.
no name (1 month ago)
MV's designer is english.
Lacqzus Layzager (1 month ago)
This is why i like this bike..
Stewart W (1 month ago)
I'm probably in the minority here but I'm not really a fan of this design trend where all the mass is in this tight ball up front with a tiny shelf sticking out back who's only purpose is to have somewhere to mount the seat cushion. It just looks weird to me and more and more bikes are looking like this.
Alberto Knox (1 month ago)
I sure would like to try on and maybe take home an MV Turismo Lusso if I could find someone to sell me one here in Texas. Just sayin'
Daniel Candelaria (1 month ago)
Beautiful bike!
TheTonicro (1 month ago)
damn that is a good looking bike
A- Y (1 month ago)
Bad throttle feedback and fueling always had been an issue with MV for me, having said that no body makes prettier machines then MV. But its not about looks all the way. I am paying a heck lot for a very little motorcycle, there are a lot of options available for that price. Furthermore I knew of 2 MV dealerships and they both stopped selling them, so I am not even sure how the spare parts situation will be. Sorry MV but wont give you a second thought, for now.
JIGA BACHI (1 month ago)
Back on track ? ! ROTFLMAO. They wish !
Fer way (1 month ago)
What a beautiful motorcycle
Matt Dickson (1 month ago)
Nice to see Tom back as a guest tester. Beautiful bike, definitely need to get another ride on it when you can test its limits. How about Brutale vs Street Triple vs MT09 with Duke, Troy, and Tom!
Evans Brasfield (1 month ago)
Matt Dickson Troy is now officially back on the staff. Look for him with a review of he Scrambler 1100in the near future!
aluisious (1 month ago)
The hole under the seat looks like a birth defect.
TheBrindleBoxer (1 month ago)
TR is back?
Evans Brasfield (1 month ago)
TheBrindleBoxer just visiting when we can slip him in. Look for him in future shootouts.
Cyber Gasty (1 month ago)
I remember when I did a test ride in 2014 that the engine was stunning. I've read somewhere that because of Euro 4 new model is down on power, but that they tweaked the torque. Pity you didn't mention it and gave us your impression compared to the previous model.
Cyber Gasty (1 month ago)
thanks
Cliftosis (1 month ago)
The Euro 4 standard Brutale 800 is down on power compared to the previous gen, but with cartloads more useable torque. This is the Euro 4 800RR, same power output as the Euro 3 compliant bike (140hp), more torque, slightly more weight (I think about 4kgs from memory)
Sachs Husam (1 month ago)
The bike getting smaller or the rider/ journalist getting bigger? Just jokes.
Stephen Brown (1 month ago)
Fantastic looking bike
Marco Gman (1 month ago)
Beautiful bike, but it's so darn small.
No changes enginewise except throttle sensitivity? Stunning motorcycle though!
Jim 86 (1 month ago)
Someone needs to make a bike that looks this good and performs, Ducat, V4 Streetfighter, sort it out!
vaultedscene (23 days ago)
These bikes perform amazingly well. I have a 2015 Brutale 800 rr. These are basically the same bike as the MV Agusta f4 800. It’s a race bike. The 2015 rr put out 144 hp at the crank and 125 at the wheel. That from an 800 triple! None of the other manufactures put out bikes in this class with those numbers. I mean it is not full out track ready if that’s what you mean, but it doesn’t get much closer.
P Banks (1 month ago)
Exnihilo415 I agree. I had a 2014 SF848 and traded it in last summer for a 2017 Brutal 800. The Ducati SF was amazing but they sat on the showroom floor. I'm not a fan of the newer Monster's which are already 16-18k. Imagine what the V4 SF would cost....20k plus. Too steep for most people.
exnihilo415 (1 month ago)
They made the Streetfighter in some form from 2009 - 2015. The 848 version even won motorcycle.com middleweight a time or two. Today there is ferocious competition with Tuono, S1000R, 1290R, Speed Triple, and FZ-10. I mean, I'll buy the V4 Streetfighter the day it's released but given the price point of the V4 superbike it's going to be a hard value proposition for many people. The streetfighter was not a money maker and Ducati does remember this and they won't want to cannibalize their own monster sales.
Jim 86 (1 month ago)
They were too early with the first gen Streetfighter, everyone was superbike mad. Now naked bike are the most popular range for all manufacturers. Sure the monster is good, but if they make a sorted Streetfighter, it will sell very well.
exnihilo415 (1 month ago)
Given how poorly the Streetfighter S sold, and I say that as an owner of one, I don't think Ducati is going to bother with a V4 Streetfighter for a long time.
IslandTosh (1 month ago)
All this time I've thought it was pronounced "rod-e-rick" not "rode-rick"
SG (1 month ago)
Pretty and cool bike but...
Trev Dakine (1 month ago)
Not impressed. Rather have a street triple.
Xav Man (28 days ago)
Try it and you will probably sell your street. I did : absolutely no regrets (both are 2 fantastic bikes)
R Zu (1 month ago)
Good to see Tom again!
chr11sf (1 month ago)
Stunning....wish my mt10 looked like that..
thepassionofthegoose (1 month ago)
I'd have your MT10 over this thing in a heartbeat.
Sergi Vega (1 month ago)
Competing with the Aprilia Tuono / Superduke bikes??? I don't think so, not even with the Speed Triple. Neither you seem nor minimally convinced when making that point, despite maintaining the due deference as result of being invited to present the bike in the very house of the brand in Italy... Nice bike overall, but also overrated (very pricey for its components and characteristics, and more importantly without the quality and performance of the best in the category).
rockafella1690 (1 month ago)
Da fuck is a boutique model?
Asad S (1 month ago)
This is a gorgeous motorcycle but that's just not enough to succeed. No doubt its visually pleasing but the new honda Cb1000r is beautiful as well yet comes with more tech and reliability. Just using the Honda as an example but other Japanese giants are also upping the game. Italian machines need to be more than just good looking or they'd be left behind as poser bikes.
Jorge Chávez (7 days ago)
Asad S uuuhh sure buddy, wanna phone the Italians and tell them?
Alexander Strandqvist (26 days ago)
Why would it be a joke? This MV would woop the CB's ass in performance. Has about the same power and is way lighter.
The Muscle Biker (27 days ago)
I own an italian bike and maintenance doesn't cost anymore than a jap bike same with parts. That was true maybe 10 years ago but I can get parts same price and time than a jap bike. Jap bikes have more recalls too and my aprilia has been very reliable
The David (29 days ago)
Asad S yes, you do are a joke. You've got the Aprilia, you've got Ducati, you can call 'em poser bikes just like any other jap owner would do, but we know that's part of the story. The truth is they both play their game at the top end among the most exquisite machines the bike industry has to offer.
Leo G. (30 days ago)
Mv aren’t for everybody.
Striple (1 month ago)
The bike looks great.
Jim 86 (1 month ago)
They should stick to a tach/dial style speedo rather than 80’s Casio look.... Also, stick some M50’s and proper suspension on there.
spoonman73 (24 days ago)
Tj- Ya this bike looks nice but so does the Speed Triple and it is cheaper and faster and probably more reliable too.
Boz (27 days ago)
Except MT10 is fugly as hell. New Speed Triple RS for me.
al-Zughal Ch. (1 month ago)
Why waste money, just save a little more to buy a Super Duke R or better, buy a MT 10 SP
R i v a l r y R i d e (1 month ago)
@TJ I'm with you man, I hate the bug eyes of speed triple at first but damn, the looks grows on me. having said that, the bike seems perfect now. but hey, there are always people who buy an MV just because they love the brand.
TJ (1 month ago)
At that price, Ohlins front and rear should be standard along with the M50's, as well as cruise control and heated grips. I'll take the Speed Triple all day over this and save a good chunk of change.
Asad S (1 month ago)
That is a visually stunning machine.
HeyAddieImTojo (1 month ago)
Asad S except the sides of the tank. Looks like wings on a damn aeroplane
Engin Can (1 month ago)
simply the best.
Bobby Backmarker (1 month ago)
I'm the only person who thinks this bike is a minger!
tricky159 (2 days ago)
Yes
DR N (1 month ago)
Best Poser bike on the market next to Ducati.
Pharaoh Skylar (1 month ago)
It’s good to hear that the electronics have been upgraded. I hope that fixes a lot of the reliability issues, especially long term. I really want an MV but reliability is an issue for me. Also heard their customer service isn’t the greatest but I know that depends on the dealership you buy the bike from.
Akroma Martell (1 month ago)
While desperately pretty, it seems kind of jank for that price. Rather disappointing. :(
Asad S (1 month ago)
Akroma Martell I agree with you but it's a beautiful thing to look at on YouTube :)
Chris Till (1 month ago)
I thought Tom left. Good to see him back on the channel. The bike wouldn’t be my choice but it’s nice and definitely stands out.
dolphin's brain (1 month ago)
Mv is the best bike
dolphin's brain (1 month ago)
Bernard Bernabe everything
Bernard Bernabe (1 month ago)
dolphin's brain in terms of what?!
adrián ferrer (1 month ago)
Vs Monster 821??
patrick balagtas (1 month ago)
If you want the thing to start everyday neither lol
adrián ferrer (1 month ago)
splatterchops I'm not talking about power...
splatterchops (1 month ago)
adrián ferrer MV Smokes the 821
Gerhard Symons (1 month ago)
Looks like a good bike - the triple exhaust is not quite my taste, still. Point to note that traction control and mode setting is independent on the Yamaha XSR900, and I am guessing on the MT09 too. Wonder if it is linked on other bikes in the class?
Joric78 (1 month ago)
I think it was a dig at KTM.
Vilouboy (1 month ago)
Waiting for the F4RR.... Good review
666JL666 (24 days ago)
Correction "It will probably be a 300horsepower hybrid"
F Ch (30 days ago)
You will have to wait till 2021... and it will probably be a hybrid
ADC L (1 month ago)
Nice video shoot in Bergamo (Italy) and then new Sarnico laka)))) I am from Bergamo, I recognise the street of High City...guys go there and visit amazing city Bergamo near Milan)))
BarryEssex (1 month ago)
Are you ((()))) maybe?
Gerhard Symons (1 month ago)
The whole area of Lombardy is beautiful. I went to Lake Como for the Guzzi festival last year, and also to Chiavenna. North Italy is great for motorbiking!
no name (1 month ago)
New Brutale 1000 in November at Eicma 2018 boys !! I hope it will have a V4 engine otherwise I will never think of buying it !
JIGA BACHI (30 days ago)
no name yeah, most of the styling on these supernakeds are LOVE it or HATE it. 😛
no name (1 month ago)
JIGA in person the tuono is a badass bike because it has a very sporty stance, for me the looks is ok but outdated. This week I had a test ride of the 1290 superduke, the engine gives so much pleasure, effortless big power from the bottom end and mental agressiveness at high revs, but again the front end is special but the side and rear looks very cool and impressive.
JIGA BACHI (1 month ago)
no name the ugliness of the Tuono has grown on me....😁. Willing to put up with the looks just for the engine and it's sound.👌
no name (1 month ago)
Jiga, well I read the interview of giovanni and timur they did this week, and apparently they will use the current frame of the F4RC and the current inline 4 with all the progress made within the competition. Timur said at least 200 hp for 175 kg dry. And a very different look. I wished they asked to an engineering company that makes motors as the english company called Ricardo that designed the Mclaren engines or another company as Cosworth or whatever, you know what I mean to make a new V4 engine for MV. Now I will hope the 2019 Tuono V4 will get a completely new look and the S1000RR will have a crossplane crankshaft because I love that engine sound and maybe I'll buy the S1000R when they will release it.
JIGA BACHI (1 month ago)
no name let's wish I'm VERY WRONG about them. They do make good looking motorcycles.👌👍
2thePtBassTuT (1 month ago)
Plenty of storage space between the bottom of the seat, and the top of the back tire.. Just wedge it in.. Yikes!
modarm (1 month ago)
What a beautiful motorcycle and that is what MV does builds amazing bikes.
duytheturtle (1 month ago)
Beauty!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.